Important Facts about BRAND Files

When you run the SafeHouse Branding Wizard to create a new group, the output is a .BRAND file which contains all of the information needed to fully describe the group.

BRAND files can easily be identified by their distinctive icon shown here at the left. By default, they are typically saved to your C:\SafeHouse folder; however, you are free to save them anywhere that makes sense for you.

File Contents

Brand files contain the following information:

No Sensitive Information

.BRAND files do not contain any information that is deemed to be sensitive. Your administrator password is not included in the file. As you can see in the above list of file contents, the file contains values for some of the text prompts you answered while running the Branding Wizard as well as some computer-generated values.

Do Not Delete your .BRAND Files

Please be sure to keep your .BRAND files around for the entire time that you have live deployed copies of SafeHouse which are based on these files. You'll need access to your .BRAND files whenever performing tasks with either the Branding Wizard or the Deployment Wizard.

Recovering a Lost .BRAND File

If you mistakenly delete your original .BRAND file, there are two ways to potentially recover:

Can .BRAND Files be Compromised?

Brand files do not contain any sensitive information and therefore cannot be compromised. It simply doesn't matter who gains access to this file. The most anyone could do with it is embed it into some other copy of SafeHouse which would allow you, but not them, to reset passwords on new volumes -- and there's no downside to that.

On the other hand, if your group password were also compromised, then the intruder would be able to masquerade as an administrator. Keep your group password secret!

SafeHouse Personal Edition  SafeHouse Professional Edition  SafeHouse Explorer  SafeHouse Software