How to Access your Files

Using SafeHouse to access your protected files takes only a few clicks. The only thing you'll need to remember is your password!

Your protected files are stored in SafeHouse volumes. You created your first volume when you installed SafeHouse. All you need to do now is open one up with your password and start using it. Once your password is accepted, you'll see a new drive letter show up in Explorer, where you can drag and drop files or do anything else you're familiar with doing in Windows, Explorer or your favorite applications such Microsoft Office.

The steps listed below show how easy it is to access your files and then lock them back up when you're done.

Step 1. Open Primary Volume to See Your Files

Start by double-clicking the SafeHouse padlock system tray icon. You can also right click and choose the Open Primary menu item.

SafeHouse already knows where your primary volume is located. This is the one you'll use most often. The only thing you'll need to do is enter your password.

Step 2. Enter Your Password

Enter your private password for this volume and press Enter or click Open.

Notice that the description and Windows drive letter for this volume is shown at the bottom of the dialog. The drive letter can be changed to any available letter using SafeHouse's Tools & Options dialog.

TIP: If you would prefer to see the letters of your password as you type them, see the Reveal Password option.

Step 3. Work with your Files

Once your password is accepted, SafeHouse adds a new drive letter to Windows to make it super-easy to work with your files. As far as Windows and all your applications are concerned, this drive letter is just as real as any other drive you might plug into your system.

In the picture below, SafeHouse shows up in Explorer as drive D. The specific drive letter used on your system may be different due to how your system is configured.

Step 4. Close Volume to Lock Up Your Files

When you are done using your files and want to lock them back up, choose Close Volume or Close All from the system tray utility. Volumes are also closed when you log out of Windows or shut down your PC.

Closed volumes cannot be accessed again until you start over with Step 1 and enter your password.

Compare to Dekart  file locker  folder protect